WhatRegional Festival Round 2 Report
WhereRed Star Raceway, Delmas
WhenSaturday 14 May 2022
CommunityGauteng Regional

Regional Festival Races Thrill and Entertain at Red Star

Red Star Raceway outside Delmas dished up a delightful day of racing as the second round of the 2022 Northern Regions Extreme Festival thrilled and entertained. The threat of late season thunderstorms remained in the distance as one or two incidents could not prevent racing of the highest order went down across the board at the twisty and demanding Mpumalanga racetrack.
Rory Atkinson made no mistakes in his BHIT Polo as he held Wayne Masters Performance Masters car off to a 0.8 second win on a packed 43-car Pabar VW Challenge grid. Stiaan Kriel Design made best of a difficult day to bring his Design Hut Polo home third from AllWagen man Waldie Meintjes and Chris beating dad Sam Dale to sixth.
Rookie sensation Hannes Scheepers made Class B his own aboard his Dainfern Dental Polo as he sped off to leave Hot 102.7FM lass Charisse van der Merwe to fend off Bevan Williams, Tinahe, Ethan Coetzee and Cape visitor Giordano Lupini. A startline incident eliminated champion Elio Muzzulini from the Class C spat and left Ian Walker beat Mark Castel, Charl Andersen, Dino Smit and Jan Spamers for the baby class win.
A late race 2 safety car threw a spanner in the works as Atkinson read the restart well to do the double. But Kriel put one over Masters for second from Sam and Chris Dale and Derick Smalberger. Scheepers did the B double over van der Merwe, while Coetzee found a way past Francois van Zyl’s Jesus Saves Polo and Lupini’s Bullion IT car swiped fifth from Williams and Lindsay Clur. Walker took C from the returning Muzzulini, Panagiotis Nousias, Castel, Smit and Spamers.
Thomas Falkiner took advantage of arch rival Jeff Kruger’s absence to take the opening Lotus Challenge win from Rudi Barnard, David Coetzee, Mackie Adlem, Andre Human and JP Nortje, while Juan du Toit beat Sean Hepburn, Andre du Plessis, Davide Favo, Andrew Fulton and Miles Downard to Locos honours. Barnard then took race 2 from Adlem, Human, Coetzee, JP Nortje and Clive Wilmot, as Fulton won Locost from du Plessis, Hepburn, du Toit, Favo and Nick Hodgson.
Adrian Dalton took the opening M Performance Parts BMW race win in his XTra M3 from Sav Gualtieri’s similar car, William Einkamerer’s 325i, Fabio Fedetto and Arrie van der Berg. Andreas Meier’s 320i Super Touring took the league of nations B win from Jagger Robertson, Carlo Garbini, Salvi Gualtieri, Nic van Zyl and Oz Biagioni, Matthew Wadeley won Class C from Renier Smith and Hein van der Merwe, Shane Grobler beat Varish Ganpath to D and Bernard De Gouveia won E.
Dalton did the double in race 2 from Einkamerer, Fedetto and Gualtieri, while Garbini took Class B from Robertson, van Zyl, Alan Hilligenn, Biagioni and Thomas Potgieter. Renier Smith took Class C from van der Merwe, Wadeley, Mish-al Sing, Trevor Long and Troy Cochran; Ganpath took D from Craig Herbst, Arri van Heerden, Anand Naidu, Manny Ribeiro and Dewit Oosthuizen. And Mike Grobler won E from Shaun Dodd, Nick Fischer, Spiro Makris and Bertie Rietveld.
It was all about the Family Robertson in INEX Legends as Devin beat Jagger, Gerhard Roux, Richard van Heerde, Mika Abrahams and Tyler in race 1. Jagger then beat Roux in the second and third heats, with Tyler third from van Heerde, Abrahams and Ian Upton in the second, and van Heerde was third from Tyler, Johann van de Venter and Martin Wiid in the Final race.
Lenard Archer took the opening Car Care Clinic 111 win  in his ACD Welkom Honda Civic  Type  R from Kobus Brits, Adrian Dalton's Xtra Golf, Piet Potgieter and Francois Henning. Archer won the GT class from van der Vyver, Brits took Class A from Dalton and Potgieter, Wayne Lebotschy beat Roland Hopkins in B, Maritz le Roux Won C, Yorick Smit's PREI MX5 took D, Dhiren Ganasen C and Didi Matjila’s Polo Class E. Archer beat Dalton and Henning in race 2 as Hopkins won Class B, Matjila E, Smith D and Ganasen Class C.
Lenard Archer was also the man to beat in Car Care Clinic Superhatch in his ACD Hyundai as he held Francois Henning and Dhiren Ganasen off to win race 1. Devon Piazza-Musso took Class B in his Hot 102.7 FM Polo from Francis Aldrich's Corsa, and Christiaan van Wyk beat Nic Martin’s Peugeot and Ish Baloyi's Civic to Class C. Race 2 was stopped after teammates Juan van der Walt and Tony Hyams crashed at the start. Henning won the restart from Archer, with the same result in B as van Wyk took C from Baloyi and Govender.
On The Track Magazine Clubmans racing together with National Sportscars proved interesting as the Clubmans started race 1 well ahead of the Sportscars. Kobus Brits’ A Jetta, Dirk Lawrence's C Civic and Eugene Gouws’ thundering D Chevy Can Am V8 and Wayne Lebotschy’s B Golf entertained early on, but Rapid Sportscar men Deon du Plessis KTM and Klippies Krige’s Lotus 7 scorched through the field to take third and fourth behind Brits and Lawrence.
The Sportscars started in front in race 2 as SR3 men du Plessis and Krige entertained while they made off up front with Brits and Lawrence in pursuit ahead of dicing D men Wayne Perrera and Lebotschy. Tjaart Visser’s Ballade beat the duelling Tony Szabo and Rodney Kruis Real Pro Ballade to Class E, Ron Harmse took SR4 honours and Bjorn Gebert won Class G.

Issued on behalf of Extreme Festival

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images