WhatRotax Max Challenge KZN Karting Report
WhereiDube Kart Raceway, KZN
WhenSunday 11 October 2020
CommunityKZN Regional

KZN Max karters prepare in style for Cape trek

KwaZulu Natal’s Rotax Max karters got their final national preparations done with a competitive regional round at iDube on Sunday. Many of them are in the thick of the national championship action ahead of Saturday’s final round at Killarney in Cape Town and among those will now consider themselves ready for this week’s trek down to the Cape.

Robert Whiting had an easy three win romp in DD2. He is extremely well placed in the nationals and will be grateful for the laps as he held Stan Whiting and Brent Walden at bay. Whiting was however made to work for it by over-30s DD2 Masters winner Jonathan Pieterse in the first and final heats. Pieterse is another with an eye on a SA team berth at the Rotax Grand Finals in Portugal in January.

Pieterse however had an issue in race 2 and only just held race 2 winner Shane Foley off overall. There was great action all day long behind as Foley fought off third overall Simon Wilde, Eric Marzoppi, Alistair Mingay, Ryan Wilde and Chris Grobbelaar.

Foley was on double duty and added the Max Masters gold medal to his DD2 Masters silver. He beat Richard van Heerde two heats to one. Behind them Richard Horner bounced back to beat Dean Rice, Beverly van Heerde and Allan John Rice. Riding similar, albeit lighter top class chain drive karts, Brent Walden enjoyed a Senior Max clean sweep ahead of national rival Riley Horner, Jono Pieterse, Shrien Naidoo, Jack Rowe and Yifan Li.

Troy Snyman was unbeaten in under-15 Junior Max ahead of Dhivyen Naidoo, Nikheil Kulkaparsad and Corban Spies, while Ntiyiso and Mahlori Mabunda shared out the under-13 Mini Max heats in front of Berlin Robinson. Travis Mingay took under-11 Micro Max two races to one over Uzair Khan, with Enzo Rujugiro, Kyle Spies, Tshepang Shisinwana and Kiera Naidoo in hot pursuit.

The baby Bambinos proved spectacular as ever, as Harry Rowe and Matthew Shuttleworth shared the wins ahead of Troy Pieterse, Kian Snyman, Busani Sithole and Kayden Pistauer. And Eddie Lloyd beat Stan Whiting, Peter-John Garbutt and Bruce Rowe in the four-stroke club race.

The attention now turns to Cape Town this weekend - don’t miss a moment live streamed on 


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images