WhatSouth African Rotax Max Challenge Final Round 4 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 17 October 2020
CommunitySouth Africa National

SA Rotax Max Challenge comes to a head at Killarney

The 2020 South African National Rotax Max Challenge karting championship wrapped up at Killarney in Cape Town on Saturday. Local drivers did the Cape proud with a dominant display at their home circuit, while the champions collected their tickets to race for the SA team at the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Portugal in January.

Jurie Swart won three DD2 heats to take the day from fellow Capetonians Sebastian Boyd and race 2 winner Jason Coetzee, and KZN star Rob Whiting. Boyd did enough to clinch the South African championship from Whiting. Both drivers earned a ticket to the Grand Finals. 

Pretoria driver Nicholas Verheul had already wrapped up the over-30s DD2 Masters title. That did not prevent him from taking three heat wins to clinch the Cape victory too. He beat local lads, heat 1 winner Conor Hughes and Jason Greyling. Verheul’s efforts earned him the Masters ticket to Portugal.

Local lads Tate Bishop and Charl Visser shared out the Senior Max wins with KZN driver Shrien Naidoo on the day, with three more locals, Andrew Rackstraw, Storm Lanfear and Jason Coetzee next up. Double winner on the day Bishop did enough to wrap up the SA title in the process. He also takes the Senior tickets to Portugal’s ‘Olympics of Karting’.

There was a turn-up for the books, when Cape Town’s 2019 SA champion Troy Dolinschek raced his first national of the season. He proceeded to take a dominant, but hard-earned four-win under-15 Junior Max victory for the day. That was never going to be enough to stop Jozi lad Muhammad Wally from taking the title with four straight seconds. KZN kid Troy Snyman was third each time, while Andre le Riche ended fourth for the day from Dhivyen Naidoo and Kyle le Riche.

Jozi kid Ghazi Motlekar had already wrapped up the under-13 Mini Max title. Saturday was however all about Cape driver, Joaquin de Oliveira. He stormed to four straight wins over KZN lad Troy Snyman and Reza Levy each time. Erich Heystek ended fourth from Ntiyiso Mabunda and Ethan Deacon. Motlekar picked up his ticket to Portugal.

Yet another local lad, Reese Koorzen came out on top of a close three-way fight to take under-11 Micro Max for the day. He beat Jozi visitors Mohammed Moerat and Caleb Odendaal. That was not enough to prevent Odendaal from swiping the championship to claim that ticket to Portugal. Keagan Beaumont ended fourth from Joshua Smit and Jordon Wadeley.

Jack Moore won two brilliant races in a magnificent day of baby Bambino racing to take the day from race 3 winner Rafael da Silva and final heat victor MJ Thekiso. Caleb Moss ended up fourth from Mattao Mason, Frade Santiago and Kai van Rensburg. That was good enough for the latest scion of the Moss racing dynasty, Caleb to take SA’s youngest 2020 racing championship.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images