The Alert Engine Pats GTi Challenge is a one make race series catering for South African built Volkswagen cars that offers an affordable means of getting into motor racing as well as a hugely competitive racing environment. The Challenge was established in 1998 when the GTi Club approached Killarney to introduce a local GTi Challenge and three races were included in Killarney regional race days where members raced their everyday road cars.

The grid grew from 8 to 15 cars by the third race and the seed was planted with some of the class pioneers still racing today. In 2000, MSA insisted on roll cages, race seats, harnesses and extinguishers and a set of rules was introduced for a 7 race series and the Challenge was born. The Alert Engine Parts GTi Challenge is a regular highlight of WPMC Killarney Power Series meetings with its close, exciting and colourful racing highly popular with fans and race goers alike.

GTi Challenge continues to offer a remarkably inexpensive, properly run, very well controlled and highly competitive form of local circuit motor racing that covers everything from a step up from karting to a serious arena for top competitor in a much loved, well received, wildly popular series place to race and spectate.

WP GTI Challenge Overall Champions:
2000 - Brett Roach
2001 - Gerrit Coetzee
2002 - George Economides
2003 - Wanie Phillips
2004 - Gerrit Coetzee
2005 - Peet van der Walt
2006 - Peet van der Walt
2007 - Greig Edwards
2008 - Aldrin van Zijl
2009 - Tersius van Tonder
2010 - Jacques Geldenhuys
2011 - Raymond Johnson
2012 - Raymond Johnson
2013 - Chris Swart
2014 - Paul Simon
2015 - Paul Simon
2016 - Brian Morgan
2017 - Marco Busi
2018 - Eden Thompson
2019 - Eden Thompson
2020 - Eden Thompson
2021 - Eden Thompson

Contact Person: Gert du Plessis
Contact Number: +27 83 709 9516
Contact Email: Gert du Plessis