WhatHistoric Tour Preview
WhereZwartkops Raceway, Pretoria
WhenSaturday 21 May 2022
CommunityGauteng Regional

The Historic Tour is Headed for Pretoria

Zwartkops is set to deliver yet another fine day of entertainment when the Historic Tour visits the Pretoria Raceway Saturday 21 May. It promises to be a truly classic day of racing on a fine late spring Highveld day. 

Featuring rounds of Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-’66 Little Giants and Legends of the 9 Hour, both the Ben Morgenrood Group HRSA Sprint Racing and Pursuit Series, International Sports Prototypes and Pre-’74 Trans Am, the racing is sure to warm the cockles of any classic race fan’s heart. Add Historic Single Seaters, Roofsure Midvaal Historics & Trofeo Formula, Historic Single Seaters, Libre & Formula M and Silver Cup 2.0 to make it an historic day to remember.

The Marlboro Pre-’66 Legends of the 9 Hour will always thrill and the Historic Tour will not be an exception as top drivers try tame racing monsters on Zwartkops’ tight confines. Expect the Olthoff tribute Galaxie to go door-to-door and nose to tail with Ford Mustangs, a Fairlane Thunderbolt, a Mercury, Studebakers, a Chevy Nova, Plymouth Barracuda and more. With Lee Thompson, Jeffrey Kruger, Mark and Jono du Toit, Hennie Groenewald, Stiaan Kriel and stars the like at the helm.

The International Sports Prototypes and Pre-’74 Trans Ams are another star Zwartkops Historic Tour attraction likely to star Zwartkops homeboys, the du Toit brothers Mark's Lola T70 and Jonathan in a Shelby Daytona Coupe. Add Peter Bailey’s Ford GT40, Warren Lombard's AC Cobra tribute as well as other sports racing exotica the likes of Chevron B19s and B8s, and a fleet of Porsche RSRs for variety, never mind those Trans Am Camaros, Mustangs and more.

Talking 911 RSRs, the Ben Morgenrood Group HRSA Sprints ought to see Andre van der Merwe and George Avvakoumides’ Class B Porsches under pressure from Class C trio Stuart Konig and Jannie van Rooyen’s Sciroccos and Johann Smith’s Mazda Capella rotary. Watch for Andre Ten Napel and Fred Konig's Sciroccos and Eveltohn Rotsides' Datsun 240Z in Class D, Riaan Roux's Scirocco in E, Kola de Klerk’s Nissan 300ZX and Sean Hepburn’s Datsun in F and John Simpson’s Alfa in G.

Alan Poulter's Ford Crosair will then take on the likes of, Ben van der Westerhuizen’s Lotus Cortina, Gary Stacey in another Cortina, Terrence Botes and Kyle Brink’s Mini Coopers and more in the Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-’66 Little Giants. More entertainment is also bound to come from Nicolas Christofides' Alfa GT Junior, John Ten Doeschate’s Protea, Ishmael Baloyi's Dart and Chad Ten Doeschate's Metropolitan in those Pre-’66 classes too.

It remains to be seen if Willie Hepburn returns to race the Roofsure Midvaal Historics & Trofeo races in his wild Rekord V8. Or if Rudolf de Vos' Chev Can-Am will be back from PE to take him on. Last time, Dawie Olivier's Alfa GTV6 proved the Trofeo car to beat, while Travis Jensen's rapid little Datsun 1200 impressed too. Meredith Willis Escort, Johan Kruger and Cameron Foster’s Datsuns, JJ Venter's Jetta and Chris Davison’s Superboss won the classes. What will Saturday bring?

The Ben Morgenrood Historic Pursuit Series will always entertain with more overtaking than most fans can follow. It's varied too, with Porsche men Werner Hartzenberg’s 916 and Wynand du Plessis Sr’s 944 taking on Althea Pretorius’ Exa, Riaan Roux’s Scirocco, Harm Beens’ Escort, Henk de Klerk's Civic and Willem van Niekerk's Marauder among others, along with Youngtimer trio, Mike O’Sullivan and Rob Clark’s Honda Ballades and Tiaan Smith in a Nissan Sentra 2.0 Sti.

Formula Fords can be expected to dominate the Historic Single Seater action. Andrew Horne’s Xena Royale, Ben van der Westhuizen’s Royale, Alan Kernick’s GMP Tempest, Mike Ward’s Royale, Paul Richardson in a Dulon and Shannon Winterstein’s Titan will all be at it. There will also be Formula Libre and Formula M races for allcomer single seaters across a broad spectrum all the way to Formula M. Should prove entrtaining!

Last but not least, an old Zwartkops favourite, Silver Cup 2.0 will provide a little more contemporary racing entertainment at Pretoria's Historic Festival. Juan Otto’s Mitsubishi Evo will be up against spaceframe five, Marius Jacobs' AAA, Ismail Peck’s Mzanzi, Theo Brussow’s BRE and Giulio Airaga’s Desco Tigras, and Riaan Draper’s Peugeot up front. Also watch for Stiaan Kriel's Jetta and Dewald Brummer’s Polo in the class action there.

Zwartkops’ Historic Festival certainly promises a most entertaining program of classic and historic racing highlights. Diarise 21 May now. That’s sure to make for a fine day’s racing entertainment.


Issued on behalf of Zwartkops Raceway

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images