WhatSouth African Motorsport Wrap
When8-9 February 2020

Historics, dirt double top SA race action

It was a relatively busy South African race weekend in spite of it still being so early in the new season, as two national and one regional championship got going and an international contingent spiced up the historic race weekend action in Cape Town over the past weekend.

Two South African off-road motorcycle championships kicked off at a unique Live Lesotho Double Header near Maseru as open class OR1 rider Charan Moore rode his Live Lesotho Roost KTM Friday’s opening SA Cross Country victory over OR2 250cc winner Brett Swanepoel (Pepson Plastics Husqvarna) and OR3 victor Bradley Cox (Brother Leader Tread KTM). Wade Blaauw (KTM) won the Senior race, Wayne Farmer (Biker's Warehouse Husqvarna) Masters, Dylan Cox (RBS Yamaha) took High School and Cobus Bester (MCA Husqvarna) Junior honours.

Then on Saturday, E2 Open class rider Travis Teasdale rode his Cleanrite Sole KTM to the overall opening round SA Enduro win over Kyle Flanagan (Bidvest Yamaha) and Brett Swanepoel (Pepson Husqvarna). Bradley Cox (Brother KTM) added the E1 200cc win to his weekend tally, Graham Hedgcock (KTM Cape Town) took Senior honours and Bruce May (Bidvest Yamaha) Masters, while Dylan Cox (RBS Yamaha) made it a High School double and Cobus Bester (MCA Holeshot Husqvarna) won the Junior race.

Meanwhile at at Killarney, it was difficult to tell between am early-‘60s Cape Grand Prix and the 2020 International Passion for Speed, as British drivers Will Nuthall (Cooper Climax) beat Andrew Beaumont (Lotus Climax) and Chris Drake (Lotus Ford) to a glorious Historic GP win. Swede Kennet Persson then drove his Le Mans ’66 GT40 to TT victory over Colin Ellison (Chevron) and Herman von Putten (Corvette) and other stunning classic GT racers, in what may as well have been a late’-‘60s Killarney 3-hour. 

Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang) beat brothers Jonathan (Chevy Nova) and Mark du Toit (Fairlane) to the Legends of the 9 Hour win, while PE visitor Rudolf de Vos (Little Chevy Can Am) took the Millstock Historic race, Albert Cook (BMW) won Fine Cars and Craig Jarvis (Ginetta) beat Greg Parton and Sandro Biccari (Juno) to the local Sports & GT win. On two wheels, Dylan Croudace (Ducati) took Clubmans and Trevor Westman (Kawasaki) Powersport honours.

Port Elizabeth’s regional race season meanwhile began with Nick Davidson (Hella Audi S5) taking a trio of Aldo Scribante EP Modified wins over Deon Slabbert (Emerald Fire Polo) and Gordon Nicholson (Brights/Fuchs GTR), while Kean Barnard (Kadett) sounded a historic racing warning with three wins, two over Neil Van Eyk (Escort) and a third over Rane Berry (Skyline). Morne Kock (Kawasaki) beat Suzuki pair Malcolm Burrows and Remi van den Bergh to the bike win and Tom Hugo (Skyline) took Street Car honours from Duncan Lethbridge (Audi TT) and Kelsey Davidson (Polo).


Issued on behalf of Motorsport Media

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images