WhatSupaCup Round 4 Report
WhereRed Star Raceway, Delmas
WhenSaturday 2 July 2022
CommunitySouth Africa National

Kruger, Fourie Share Red Star SupaCup Honours

Leyton Fourie and Jeffrey Kruger cemented their positions at the top of the all-Volkswagen Polo SupaCup championship table when they shared the spoils at a robust day of racing at Red Star’s midseason fourth round Extreme Festival races on Saturday. Nick Davidson meanwhile made it four wins in a row in SupaCup Masters.

Fourie started the weekend on the front foot when he put his Express Hire Supa Polo onto his commanding maiden SupaCup pole position from Universal teammate Jeffrey Kruger. Keegan Campos’ Turn 1 Insurance shared the second row with Arnold Neveling’s Pagid Polo and brother Jason Campos’ Campos Transport car.

Team Perfect Circle lad Keagan Masters and JP van der Walt’s Platinum Wheels car occupied row four, ahead of VW factory driver Jonathan Mogotsi who has shifted across from GTC to a Sonax Motul SupaCup following the tragic events following the previous round. Jonathan lined up ninth alongside Tato Carello’s Carello Auto car.

Trinity Security duo Nathan and Damian Hammond were next up ahead of a surprise in front of the Masters class grid as fresh grandpa Iain Pepper put Rui Campos’ car on pole as Rui took the weekend off. Danie van Niekerk was next up from Masters class trio, Nick Davidson, Paul Luti and Stefan Snyders.

Fourie and Kruger escaped a wild first turn melee, where the Campos brothers, Mogotsi, Nathan Hammond and Pepper were either spinning or avoiding contact. Neveling best navigated the mess to chase the escaped leaders, ahead of Masters, van der Watt and Carello.

Keagan Masters then slowed and stopped, while Keegan Campos and Mogotsi fought back gamely. So, by the time the flag flew, Fourie took a measured win, his first right way round win after a couple of reverse race wins the past two rounds from Kruger, Neveling and van der Walt. Keegan Campos drove his way back up to fifth from Carello, Mogotsi, Damian Hammond and van Niekerk. 

Nick Davidson got ahead in the Masters class from the get-go and stayed there to win from Paul Luti, with Nathan Hammond next home from Masters class third and fourth men, Iain Pepper and Stefan Snyders. Jason Campos succumbed to damage originating from that turn 1 incident to join Masters in retirement.

The top six were inverted for reverse grid race 2, which put Carello on a sunset pole position from Keegan Campos, van der Walt, Neveling, Kruger and Fourie. This time it took three turns for the trouble to start. Van der Walt was tagged as he, Damian Hammond and Davidson fell back and Mogotsi was rendered hors de combat.

There was more drama at slippery turn 3 a lap later. Leader Keegan Campos slipped wide and a fast-starting Kruger, who had best navigated his way through, took the lead. A wild lap later, Fourie was through to second but had a sizeable gap ahead of him. So, he put his head down as the sun sank on a fiery red Delmas horizon.

The drama behind took four laps to settle as Kruger led Fourie, Neveling, Keegan Campos, van Niekerk, Masters, Carello, Nathan Hammond and van der Walt. It took Fourie half the race to close the gap to Kruger, but once he was there, no matter what he did, he could not draw alongside to try pass. 

Behind them van der Walt passed Hammond and Campos found a way past Neveling. So, Kruger won from Fourie, Campos, Neveling, a delighted van Niekerk, resurgent duo Masters, Carello and van der Walt and Nathan and Damian Hammond. And Luti won Masters as Snyders kept Davidson behind for a close second.

Overall, Leyton Fourie took the day from Jeffrey Kruger to keep their championship advantage intact. Just a handful of points still separate them. Late starter Arnold Neveling made it three podiums in three rounds in third with Keegan Campos fourth from JP van der Walt, Tato Carello and Danie van Niekerk.

Damian and Nathan Hammond and the troubled Keagan Masters closed out the top ten. Nick Davidson did his SupaCup Masters championship lead no harm at all with a fourth overall win out of four ahead of Paul Luti, Stefan Snyders and Iain Pepper. SupaCup races next at the East London Grand Prix Circuit, Saturday 6 August.

*Volkswagen thanks its partners CompCare Medical Scheme, Dunlop, Sonax, Motul and VW Genuine Parts.   


Issued on behalf of Volkswagen Motorsport

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images