WhatNorthern Regions Rotax Max Karting Final Preview
WhereZwartkops International Kart Raceway, Pretoria
WhenSaturday 5 December 2020
CommunityGauteng Regional

Rotax Max regional titles up for grabs in Pretoria

The Gauteng-based 2020 Northern Regions Rotax Max Championships come to a head at Zwartkops on 5 December as the karting community celebrates overcoming lockdown to deliver a full, if cramped season after all. While one or two class titles are all but set, others are still to play for. Which should make for a most intriguing day’s racing.

Jamie Smith has a handy DD2 gearbox title advantage, but he must keep an eye on Nicholas Verheul before he wraps up his maiden karting title. Ian Allnut and Nico Zafiris are fighting over third, but a few drivers could be out playing interference, including Brad Liebenberg, Mark Allison and Nicolas Spanoyannis. Philippe Chapat has a clear over-30 DD2 Masters advantage, but Tinahe Ncube is the man to watch to upset there, with Carlo Gil Marouan Selmi and Rob Nicholson also in the frame.

2020 SA champion Muhammad Wally holds a comfy under-15 high school Junior Max advantage over Tyler Robinson. Kian Grottis and Oleratu Sekudu are within striking distance of second. Should Nik Roos and African Open champion Troy Snyman race, either could be a factor three, too. Aqil Alibhai has already clinched the Senior Max title, leaving Kgalema Mngadi and Tyrone Sterne to fight over second, with Erwin Sterne and Hamza Jassat next up. And will African Open winner Delon Thompson and Kwanda Mokoena be out this weekend, too?

The top six drivers in Mini Max are all within a mathematical chance of stealing the Gauteng under-13 Mini Max title. And with leader Ghazi Motlekar expected to be off racing in Europe in preparation for the Rotax Max Grand Finals, the door is open to a surprise champion in the top primary school class. Erich Heystek sits a very close second and so ready to pounce, but he has Luviwe Sambudla and Mathlori Mabunda uncomfortably close. And Troy Snyman is ready to cause an upset.

Mohammed Moerat and Reagile Mailula arrive at Zwartkops in a close title battle in under-11 Micro Max. They have a handy title advantage over Ntiyiso Mabunda in a lonely third, with Enzo Rujugiro, Hriday Pooren and Luke Hill next up. It could not be closer in the baby Bambinos, where Mattao Mason and Manelisi Nkomo carry their year long title fight into the finale. Rafael da Silva is close enough behind in third to cause an upset and Muziwakhe Thekiso, Matthew Shuttleworth and Cristian Verheul are in a super-tight fight over fourth.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images