WhatSA National Motocross Round 4 Preview
WhereDirt Bronco, Krugersdorp
WhenSaturday 6 July 2019
CommunitySouth Africa National

Krugersdorp SA Nationals not to be missed

Gauteng race fans can look forward to spectacular motocross action when the fourth round of the 2019 TRP South African National Championship visits Dirt Bronco in Krugersdorp Saturday 6 July with several championship classes poised on a knife’s edge.

It could not be closer than in the half-litre MX1 class, where Maddy Malan and his Q4 Fuels Husqvarna arrives with a slender single point lead over Lloyd Vercueil (Florstore OnTrend Summit Racing Yamaha) and last race winner Tristan Purdon (KTM) just another 7 points adrift in third. Other men to watch in the open class include David Goosen (Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha), Marco de Vrye (Husqvarna), Royce Griffin (KTM), Garric Pretorius (Honda) and Kevin Moran (Kawasaki).

MX2 is proving another close-fought TRP National Motocross Championship with Anthony Raynard (Tintswalo Yamaha) just 9 points clear of Joshua Mlimi, who was the form man aboard his KTM last time out. Kerim Fitz-Gerald and his Red Bull KTM are also within striking distance and there are several riders quite capable of causing an upset here including Q4 Husqvarna race winner Nick Adams, Bradley Cox (KTM) and Jesse Wright (Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha); while SA internationals Cameron Durow (KTM) and Slade Smith (Husqvarna) have also shone when they have raced at home.

Over-40 rider Ian Topliss (Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha) and over-30 rival Tyson Engelbrecht (KTM 30) have proven the MX3 frontrunners of late, but both missed the first round, leaving KTM trio Brett Bircher, Craig Kruger and Stuart Laing to lead the way in the old man’s class. Johnathan Hubbard (KTM), Roger Bergstrom (Husqvarna) and Calvin Gloster (Yamaha) are also all men to watch there.

In Ladies motocross, the dominant Kayla Raaff (Husqvarna) will arrive in Krugersdorp without the injured Leah Heygate to worry about. Natasha Rugani (KTM), Jenna Bohling (Husqvarna), Yanke Pieterse (Yamaha), KTM ladies Jadene de Lima, Tiegan Reed and Carika Pieterse (Yamaha) will however be chasing hard to topple the runaway championship leader.  

Dalton Venter (Husqvarna) holds a comfortable 125cc High School championship lead, but Arnu Saaiman (KTM), Calvin Jean-Jacques (Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha) and Ethan Hoffman (Yamaha) are involved in an almighty fight for second. International wildcard Cameron Durow (KTM) could well run interference here with Tristan Grainger (KTM), Christiaan Cilliers (Yamaha) and Thabo Verster (KTM) all in with a shout too. 

The 85cc class in an interesting prospect — Seth Young (KTM) leads the title chase over Deegan Bloomfield (Husqvarna) and Seth Whitington, but Zimbabwean Emmanuel Bako has proven dominant of late aboard his KTM with four moto wins in four starts after missing the opening round. Also keep an eye out for Joshua Fletcher (Yamaha), James Thompson (Yamaha) and Timo Maximo Toepfer among the 85 kids.

It’s also super tight among the 85cc Pro Mini kids, where just 12 points separate KTM quartet Blake Young, Dylan Kirk, Nate McLellan and Leonard du Toit. Yamaha kids Hayden Tully and Bryce Petersen, Lucas Venter (Husqvarna) and Barend du Toit (KTM) are also all very much worth watching in Pro Mini.

Q4 Husqvarna lad Neil van der Vyver holds a strong 65cc class championship lead over Liam Botha (Husqvarna), Trey Cox (KTM) and danger man, double winner last time out, Jordan van Wyk (Husqvarna). Other kids to watch among this lot include KTM trio Pieter Brink, Thor Johnson and Damon Garrell and Aiden Saffy (Husqvarna). 

Ethan Williamson (KTM) holds a handy lead in the baby 50cc motocross class over race winner last time out, Jake van Schoor, Keenan Strauss and Christian Berrington-Smith, all of them riding KTMs. Trenton Kretzmann, Casey Tilley, Chase Bekker (Husqvarna) and WJ van Niekerk (KTM) will however be keen to upset that applecart. 

Undoubtedly among the best attractions available across all of Jozi Saturday 6 July, the fourth round TRP South African National Motocross Championship races are set to thrill Dirt Bronco, just outside Krugersdorp on Viscount Street, Luipaardsvlei. Miss it and miss out!

The 2019 South African National Motocross Championship is presented by TRP Distributors in association with Dragon Energy, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Motul, Pro-Taper, Fly Racing, 100%, Ogio Luggage, Racestar Graffix, Tintswalo, Out of Africa Developments and the Race Shop.


Issued on behalf of SA Motocross

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images