WhatBorder Regional Racing 4 & Extreme Supercar Report
WhereEast London Grand Prix Circuit
WhenSaturday 22 June 2019
CommunityBorder Region, Eastern Province

East London delivers cracking racing

The shortest Saturday of the year did not deter the East London Grand Prix Circuit from delivering a splendid day’s racing in perfect weather at a splendid location as the visiting G&H Extreme Supercars topped the bill alongside the regular Border Motorsport action.

The sting was however taken out of that Supercar tail when Franco Scribante’s pacesetting Porsche ran into power trouble in Friday practice and was withdrawn, leaving Charl Arangies to speed off to give his new Senna tribute McLaren an easy first win on SA soil, but the action was close a long way behind him in that opening race. 

Jonathan du Toit’s Ferrari battled Johnny Giannicaro’s Lamborghini for second with Elwin Steenkamp (BMW M3) close behind. Darron Gudmanz and his Nissan Skyline GT-R gave the local crowd something to cheer for with a close fifth over Ant Blunden’s Porsche, Len-Henry Gobey (BMW Z4M), Roy Obery (Porsche) and Xo Mdolo (Ferrari). Arangies again sped into the distance to take Race 2 from du Toit, Steenkamp, Blunden and Jimmy Giannicaro, with Obery next up from Gobey, Mdolo and Quinsley Sale after Gianni Gianoccoro and Gudmanz hit trouble.

Topping the local bill, Martin van Zummeren made easy work of the opening Border Modified race in his wild yellow Border Towing Skyline GT-R, clearing off to leave Shaun Gradwell’s lightweight BMW on his own in second with Class B men Dean Ball (BMW) and Kean Barnard (GB Fitment Harper V8) next up. In Class C, Richard Clarke (Honda Civic) had to deal with Jeff Hall to take a narrow half-second win, while Brady Choudree (Golf) working hard to keep Bruce Butler (HR Focus Nardini) and Cameron Hall (Champion BMW) at bay, with Sean Heideman holding a watching brief. 

Allen Hurn followed ahead of a spat between Sharniel Holmes (Selego Golf), best of the East London racing ladies, Ashton Nel (Pro CV Golf) and Jared de Kock, with Brent Strydom, Shaun Beetge and Cherne Marais a lap down while Troy Marais stopped after 4 laps, Julian Herman after two and Gary Schultz did not start.

Van Zummeren again cleared off to the second race win ahead of Ball and Barnard, who had Butler all over him in fourth. Clarke was next up from a dicing Cameron Hall and Choudree with Jeff Hall next up, closely followed by Heideman and then a gap to Hurn and Holmes. Beetge held a determined Nel off, while Strydom just beat Cherne Marais to the flag as Jared de Kock ended a lap down, Eli Vergera stopped after a lap and Gary Marais did not start.

Martin van Zummeren took another easy win in the 8 lap final with Bruce Butler second and Dean Ball in close pursuit. Clarke was a lonely fourth ahead of Hall, Heideman, Hurn and Gary Marais, with Kean Barnard ninth and a lap down but less than a second clear of Sharniel Holmes with Shaun Beetge, Jared de Kock, Eli Vergera and Ashton Nel all in hot pursuit and Brent Strydom further back ahead of Cherne Marais. Jeff Hall stopped after 2 laps and Brady Choudree did not start.

Mike Forsyth made no mistakes to power his Cobra to the first Borer Historics win ahead of Alec Gudmanz’ Capri Perana, Brendan Smith (Escort) and Gudmanz duo, Mathew and Darron, who had Donnovan Collins (BMW) right behind them. Shane Fantham was next up from the dicing Graham (Cortina) and Quentin Lessing (Escort), Gary Schultz, Johan van der Westhuizen (Chevy), Quenton Bates, Andrew Karshagen and Kyle Rose.

Forsyth, Alec Gudmanz and Botha took the top places in the second and third races with Smith fourth from Mathew and Darron Gudmanz, Collins, Fantham and van der Westhuizen next up in race 2 followed by Graham and Quentin Lessing, Schultz, Karshagen, Bates and Rose. Mathew Gudmanz was fourth in Race 3 from Collins, Fantham, Graham Lessing, Schultz, Rose and Karshagen as Smith and Butler hit trouble.

Jono Webster took the opening Border Motorcycle race from Jason Warne and Chris Webster with Nathan Ashington next up ahead of Craigan Nel and a troubled Jason Lamb a lap down. Lamb was back to his winning ways in the final ahead of Ashington, Warne, Rehse, Chris and Jono Webster, Michael Smal and Gareth Nel. Lodewyk Hattingh meanwhile took the opening Clubmans bike win from Paul Jansen, Malcolm Bothes and Craigan Nel, who took a close second race win from Hattingh, Sazi Patela and Jansen.

There’s another bonus for East London race fans when the SA Endurance Series comes to town to share the Grand Prix Circuit with the local favourites on 3 August, before the big one when the national championship Extreme Festival visits the Border racetrack on 31 August.


Issued on behalf of East London Grand Prix Circuit

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images