WhatInvestchem Formula 1600 Round 5 Report
WhereRed Star Raceway, Delmas
WhenSaturday 25 September 2021
CommunitySouth Africa National

Andrew is 2021 Investchem champion

Andrew Rackstraw clinched the 2021 South African Investchem Formula 1600 championship with a dominant showing at the tight, twisty and technically demanding Red Star Raceway at Delmas, not far from Johannesburg on Saturday. Cape Town youngster Rackstraw’s position improved even further when his main championship rival Jarrod Waberski struggled on the difficult to overtake on circuit.

Rackstraw put his Investchem RDSA Mygale on a compelling pole position on Saturday morning, seven-tenths of a second ahead of Gauteng Teenager Waberski’s DAW Mygale. Josh le Roux was 0.2 behind in his ICLA New Heights Mygale alongside Ewan Holtzhausen’s Total Plastics Mygale on the second row. Abacus Divisions Mygale brothers Antwan and Gerard Geldenhuys filled the third row, another half a second adrift and a couple of thousandths apart.

Nicholas van Weely Magnificent Paints & Hardware van Diemen and Alex Vos Ecurie Zoo DV van Diemen shared were seventh and eighth on the grid from newcomer Taya van der Laan and her Macrocom TNT Mygale, who pipped Brendan Tracey's Investchem RDSA Mygale to tenth. Ian Schofield's Investchem Mygale topped the Formula Ford Kents who started separately behind, but a full two seconds clear of Graham Hepburn and Dean Venter’s Chamber 77 Mygale. 

Rackstraw made a cracking start and disappeared up front, helped by a little confusion behind, when Waberski made a slow start and was overcome by Josh le Roux, the Geldenhuys brothers and Ewan Holtzhausen. Jarrod muscled his way past Holtzhausen and set about tackling the brothers in an intriguing battle. But Rackstraw was long gone as he cruised home for a 14 second win from a delighted le Roux.

Try as he may, Waberski could not get by Gerard and Antwan Geldenhuys and was dealt a one place penalty for his exuberance in passing Holtzhausen, for fifth. Behind him, Alex Vos led Brendan Tracey and 14-year old Taya van der Laan, who acquitted herself well on debut. Graham Hepburn upset Ian Schofield for the Ford 1600 win ahead of Dean Venter, Graham Vos and Ronald van Weely's van Diemens as Paul Schultz, Nicholas van Weely and Allen Meyer hit trouble.

Rackstraw trotted home to another easy victory in race 2 from Holtzhausen and Waberski, who stole a point back from title challenger le Roux, Antwan Geldenhuys and Gerard Geldenhuys. Nicholas van Weely fought back to seventh from Alex Vos, van der Laan and Tracey. Ian Schofield made good for his first race second place with a win over Hepburn, Ronald van Weely and Graham Vos as Venter and Meyer stopped.

So, Andrew Rackstraw took the day overall to take his win tally to 11 out of 12 starts and move himself out of reach in title chase heading to the 23 October decider at Zwartkops. Top rookie Josh le Roux also did his overall second place and rookie of the year aspirations no harm at all in second from the brothers, Antwan and Gerard Geldenhuys, Ewan Holtzhausen and Jarrod Waberski in sixth. Ian Schofield stole the Formula Ford 1600 trophy from Graham Hepburn and Ron van Weely. Roll on Zwartkops!


Issued on behalf of Investchem Formula 1600

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images