WhatWestern Province Karting Round 2 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 14 March 2020
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

WP Rotax Max championships entertain

Killarney’s second round of the Western Province Rotax Max Challenge karting championship delivered great racing on a fine early Cape autumn’s morning as local drivers diced hard while also fine tuning for the opening round of the South African national Max series in KwaZulu Natal at the end of the month.

The premier gearbox class DD2 proved an exception as Sebastian Boyd sounded a stern national warning with three straight wins over Jason Coetzee, but it was anything but straightforward in the over-30s DD2 Masters. Jason Greyling took the first of three races in a fraught afternoon over Roy Gruer, Andrew Thomas and Jacques de Bruyn, before Gruer beat Connor Hughes and Greyling in the second heat and Greyling took the final from de Bruyn and Thomas with Jared Jordan, Robert Peche, Andre Steenkamp and Michael Jordan all very much in the mix.

Tate Bishop and Jason Coetzee shared out the Senior Max wins while Charl Visser beat Kai van Zijl two thirds to one with Tahier Ramlall keeping a watching brief, while Troy Dolinschek beat Andre and Kyle le Riche Reza, Levy, Paul Malcolm and Matthew Wadeley to the opening under-15 Junior Max win when Kyle Visser hit trouble. Visser bounced back to second in heat 2 before beating Dolinschek in the final with Kyle le Riche third from brother Andre each time, as Wadeley, Malcolm and Levy tussled behind them.

In primary school action, Jason MacBeath took the opening under-13 Mini Max heat from Reza Levy, Ethan Stier, Joshua Smit, Ethan Deacon, Jude Stuart, Paul Malcolm and Guido Bidoli, but there was drama in heat 2 when MacBeath hit trouble to leave Levy to win the next two races from Deacon. Joshua Smit finally broke Reese Koorzen’s under-11 Micro Max run with a second heat victory, while Jordon Wadeley and Keagan Beaumont shared the seconds and thirds ahead of Eric Norman, Sabelo Ntuli and Dale Hobbs.  

A huge field of baby Bambinos is not just great news for local karting, but also delivered some great racing behind the unstoppable Kai van Rensburg as Mattao Mason and Aiden Beaumont shared out the seconds and thirds. From there back however, it was a huge dice between Siyabonga Ntuli, Matthew Roach, John Norman, Sebastiano Human, Liam Wharton, Zack McAuley, Michael Danks, Riley Stier, Rebecca Wadeley and Maddox Mason for the minor placings.

Barring Coronavirus measures being put in place beforehand, the Rotax Max Challenge now limbers up for that opening SA nationals at iDube on 28 March, with round 3 of the WP series scheduled to follow on 25 April.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images