WhatSouth African Race Weekend Wrap
When1-2 February 2020

Jordan’s Aussie win tops SA weekend race news

South Africa's national and international race weekend news was dominated by Bentley Boys, Jozi lad Jordan Pepper sharing his Continental GT3 with Frenchman Jules Gunon and Belgian Maxime Soulet, winning the Intercontinental GT Series opening Bathurst 12 Hour in Australia. The trio overcame a troubled Friday to qualify tenth but the number 7 Bentley was soon fighting for the lead, before taking a dramatic victory precisely as the heavens opened on the Mount Panorama circuit.

Another Johannesburg driver, Kelvin van der Linde’s troubled 18th-placed Audi set the fastest lap of the race in the final laps. "I have no words, honestly, the rain held off, that race was ours to win!” a dancing Jordan Pepper said immediately after the race. "The boys put in an amazing effort all weekend — it was so difficult for them on Friday and Saturday, so it was great to gift them a win — what a brilliant day!” The Intercontinental GT Challenge conclude at Kyalami’s 9 Hour in November.

Closer to home, the 2020 Historic Racing SA championship season sped off to a fine start at Zwartkops’ Passion for Speed Festival, where Seef Fourie drove his Mazda R100 to two Universal Healthcare Pre-81 race wins over PE visitor Rudolf de Vos’ Little Chev Can-Am. Old rivals Jannie van Rooyen (Scirocco) and Johann Smith shared out Class C honours, Phillip Pantazis (Datsun 240Z) took Class D, Dave Leyshon (Scirocco) and Nick Sheward (Sierra XR8) swapped class F wins and Lourens van Zyl (Alfa Berlina) and Stuart McLarty (Mazda 323) split the Class G honours. 

Rob Clark floated his Citroen Club to Charlies Superspar Pursuit honours over Fine class rivals father and son Wynand du Plessis Senior (Porsche 944) and Junior (Toyota MR2), while Kola de Klerk (Nissan 300Z) beat champion Werner Hartzenberg (Porsche 916) to Trophy class honours. Veteran Larry Wilford (Lola T70) took the first Pre-’74 Sports & GT race win over young gun Keegan Campos and Peter van der Spuy’s Porsche 911 RSRs, before Campos took an easy race 2 win over Neil Lobb’s Lola T70 and Hennie Groenewald’s thundering Camaro.

In other Zwartkops action, veteran Rui Campos steered his Lola T70 MK2 Spyder to the Pre-66 Le Mans TT race win from Zwartkops brothers Mark and Johnathan du Toit’s Daytona Cobra, Chad Ten Doeschate (Shelby Cobra) and Swede Kennet Persson’s actual Le Mans ‘66 Ford GT40. Zwartkops was also treated to a magnificent International Historic Grand Prix Car racing, where Ian Nuthall (Alta) came home ahead of Christian Dumolin’s glorious Maserati 250F and Steve Hart's Cooper-Maserati overall, while Matt Nash (van Diemen) and Richard Wilson (Brabham BT6) shared historic single seater wins.

Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang) beat Jono du Toit (Chevy Nova) and Mark du Toit (Ford Fairlane) to Pre-’66 Legends, while Crister Pernwall (Porsche 911) took the Pre-66 tin-tops from Chad Ten Doeschate (Alfa Spider) and Lars Bondesson (Lotus Elan), and Rudolf de Vos (Chevy Can-Am) and Lee Thompson (Astra V8) shared Greats of the Past honours.

In more contemporary action Darren Winterboer (BMW M3) beat Kris Budnik (Viper) and Harry Arangies (Ferrari) to Extreme Supercars honours, Thomas Reib (Chev Lumina) took the V8 Supercars over Ford Falcon two Corrie Volschenk and Warren Lombard and Sav Gaultieri beat Rick Loureiro and Dino Fameliaris to the BMW Club win. Sunday’s two wheeled action saw Naasief Wadvalla (Yamaha R1) take Challenge, Dave Mcfadden (Yamaha) Superbike, Dino Iozzo 600 and Jordan Agliotti Kawasaki ZX10 honours.


Issued on behalf of Motorsport Media

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images