WhatBurly Pro GTi Challenge Round 6 Preview
WhereKillarney International Raceway, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 10 August 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

GTi championship chase hots up

The Burly Pro GTi Challenge returns to Killarney for its sixth round races at the Women’s Day Wingfield Power Series with just eight points splitting the championship top three, class C leader Giordano Lupini, Class A frontrunner Nian du Toit and Class B top man Eden Thompson. Each of them hold handy class title leads, but the fight is definitely on for that Number 1 plate next year, especially with the top three certain to have targets on their back in their classes this weekend and with long-term forecasts predicting a wet Killarney next week, the intrigue gets even deeper...

Du Toit holds a monster Class A lead in his Allied Fibreglass Jetta 3, but just two points split Jurie Swart Jr (Alpine Autohaus Polo 6R), Colin Nicholas Meder (International Tube Tech Polo 6R), Christopher Swart (Village Paint & Hardware Jetta 2) and Jano van der Westhuizen (Wingfield Motors Polo 3) behind him. All of them, as well as recent race winner, Mark Fontini (Medine Polo Classic) and Chris Roberts (BMT Polo 6R), never mind reigning GTi Challenge champion Marco Busi debuting his new Class A Automan Polo 6R are after a win, so expect the action to be fraught up front.

2017 champion Thompson and his Jetta 2 likewise holds a handy Class B championship lead over Zaki Hendricks (Wheelworx Polo Classic) and Busi, who has now moved up to Class A, with the luckless Gideon Serfontein (Goede Hoop Onderdele Golf 2 GTi) and Emile Assure (Burly Pro Suspensions Polo 6R) in a close dice for fourth. Never ignore Ashley van Niekerk (Ashrome Polo 3) from the Class B battle, while Marc Thompson (Polo Classic) and Wayne Field (Coetzee Coachworks Jetta 2) are always in the mix.

The Class B bunch needs to be on their toes to beet the Class C Brat Pack frontrunners after Lupini (CIR / La Vie de Luc / Accelerate 102) put one over all of then last time out. Giordano holds a strong all- Golf 1 GTi Class C championship lead over from Jarred Simpson (Greenz Plumbing/Cape Refractory CD), Alfie van Zyl (GT Graphics) and Jason Coetzee (Coetzee’s Coachworks).

Brett Roach has however proven the biggest thorn in Lupini's side of late with a couple of wins in the last four races, while Dillon Joubert made a positive return last time out and while rookie Kyle Wiltshire (Suicide Pistons) has made great progress of late. Add Patrick Walton, Daniel Munna (Ivor Smith Electric), Paul Winter and Ian Kapp (Hydracor) and debutantes Calvin Wiltshire, Carel van der Merwe and Chase Heroldt and come rain or shine, Class C is guaranteed to delight.

The Burly Pro GTi Challenge shares Killarney's Women’s Day Wingfield Power Series with a full program of racing in an awesome day’s entertainment — a perfect excuse to make a great Killarney day of it!


Issued on behalf of WP GTi Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images