WhatSA National Motocross Round 4 Report
WhereDirt Bronco, Krugersdorp
WhenSaturday 6 July 2019
CommunitySouth Africa National

SA Championships deliver Krugersdorp drama

The fourth round of the 2019 TRP South African National Motocross Championship thrilled a significant Gauteng crowd at Dirt Broncos at Krugersdorp on Saturday with intriguing dices and championship tussles throughout. The day’s action was opened by Mogale City mayor Patrick Lipudi, with the premier MX1 the centre of attraction.

Open class championship leader Maddy Malan made no mistakes as he blasted his Q4 Fuels Husqvarna past David Goosen’s Out Of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha late in the race to take the opening moto win by four seconds. Tristan Purdon (Red Bull KTM) ended third behind Goosen and ahead of Micheal Docherty (KTM), Jayden Ashwell (KTM) who made a most impressive return, Wesley du Plooy and Kevin Moran, with Cameron Odendaal next up from Charan Moore and a hurt Lloyd Vercueil, who limped home tenth after a crash earlier in the race.

Goosen made another perfect start in the second race, but this time cleared off to win from the battling Purdon and Malan, who consolidated his title advantage. A brave Vercueil was next up on his Florstore OnTrend Summit Yamaha, while Ashwell ended fifth from Docherty, du Plooy, Moran, Odendaal and Moore as Malan left Krugersdorp in a handy MX1 championship lead en route to his home race in ‘Maritzburg.

Anthony Raynard (Tinswalo Yamaha) came from behind to take the opening MX2 250cc race from Josh Mlimi (Red Bull KTM) and Slade Smith (CIT Husqvarna). Kerim Fitz-Gerald (Red Bull KTM) ended fourth from Jesse Wright (Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha), Ricky Raaf, Bradley Cox, Mark Carty, Regan Wasmuth and Seth van Abele in tenth. Fitz-Gerald overcame Mlimi to take the second moto as Mlimi slipped to fourth behind Smith and Raynard with Cox next up from Raaff, Wright, van den Abelei, Johnam Vogelsang and Wasmuth, to see Raynard head to KZN with the title leader’s red plate on his machine.

Over-30 rider Tyson Engelbrecht (KTM) took the opening MX3 race from Over-40 winner Ian Topliss (Out Of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha), over-30 man Dwayne Kleynhans and over-40 KTM duo Brett Bircher and Craig Kruger. Topliss took one for the old men with the moto 2 win over younger men Kleynhans and Engelbecht, Bircher and Kruger.

Kayla Raaff (Husqvarna) meanwhile continued her utter domination of 2019 SA ladies motocross with two more wins as Megan Jonker bounced back from a year of recuperation from injury to add variety by sharing the seconds and thirds, while Natasha Rugani (KTM) and Tiegan Reed (KTM) and Yanke Pieterse (Yamaha) swapped the fourth and fifth places ahead of Jenna Bohling (Husqvarna) each time.
In schoolboy action, Dalton Venter (CIT Husqvarna) continued on his winning ways in 125 High School with a dominant double win performance over Arnu Saaiman (KTM) each time. Miguel de Waal was next up from Yamaha riders Christiaan Cilliers, Travis Goosen, and Ethan Hoffman, Zimababwean Tristan Grainger, Thabu Verster, Callum Marriot and Nathan Maybery. Celliers took third in race 2 from Hoffman, Goosen, Grainger, Verster, Callan Broskie, Maybery and Marriott.

Blake Young (KTM) took the opening 85cc Pro Mini win over Leonard du Toit with a brave Dylan Kirk, third from Hayden Tully, Wesley McGavin and Bryce Petersen, while James Thompson (Yamaha) took 85cc honours from Timo Maximo, Toepfer (KTM), Deegan Bloomfield (Husqvarna) and Zimbabwean Emmanuel Bako (KTM). Du Toit bounced back to take Pro race 2 from Young, Kirk, Tully, McGavin and Petersen, while Bako took the second Junior win from Thompson, Young and Toepfer.

Championship leader Neil van der Vyver returned to winning ways to extend his 65cc title advantage with a couple of race victories aboard his Q4 Fuels Husqvarna. He beat Jordan Van Wyk (CIT Husqvarna), Trey Cox (Alfie Cox KTM), Liam Botha (Husqvarna) and Damon Garrell (KTM) each time, while Lous Mostert was sixth in the first moto from Sven Larsen, Jack Pullen, Damien Venter and Thor Johnson, with Venter sixth ahead of Mostert, Pullen, Johnson and Larsen in race 2.

Last but not least, Christian Berrington-Smith (KTM) sped to two baby motocross 50cc wins, leading Jake van Schoor (KTM), Keenan Streauss, Trent Valecchi, Logan van Vuuren and Ethen Williamson home in heat 1 with Jake Pretorius, Evan Frost, Coby Hart and Casey Tilley closing off the top ten. Williamson (KTM) bounced back to beat van Schoor to second in race 2 with Chase Bekker fourth from Strauss, van Vuuren, Valsecchi, Pretorius, Trenton Kretzman and Tilley.

The 2019 South African National Motocross Championship powered by TRP Distributors, in association with Dragon Energy, Prepsol, Out Of Africa, Tintswalo, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Motul, Pro-Taper, Fly Racing, 100%, Ogio Luggage, Racestar Graffix and the Race Shop, heads to Pietermaritzburg next on Women’s Day Weekend in August.


Issued on behalf of SA Motocross

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images