WhatWestern Province Karting Round 3 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 18 May 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Rotax karts thrill at Killarney

Cape Town’s Rotax Max karting community came together for its third round Western Province championship races, where the expected close action entertained on a typical Province autumn’s Saturday 18 May.

Jason Coetzee dominated the premier DD2 gearbox races to take overall honours in spite of second man Sebastian Boyd leading for a while in race 3. It was a tough day for Dino Stermin, who was second in the middle race, but stopped while lying second in race 1 and again when leading the final to let Jonathan Thomas take third for the day ahead of Jarryd Evans and Waldo de Wet.

DD2 Masters delivered three race winners out of three races as Conor Hughes, Roy Gruer and Marco Viegas shared out the wins, but it was Hughes who won the day from Viegas and Gruer. Harry Georgiou ended fourth from Andre Steenkamp, Ernst Viljoen and Robert Peche.

Charl Visser cantered odd to a dominant three-win victory over Kai van Zijl and Storm Lanfear in an intriguing trio of Senior Max races. Jason Coetzee only raced the first heat and promptly broke the lap record en route to second, while  dropped second to third in the final due to a nose cone penalty before Simon Simpson-Heat broke Coetzee’s fresh lap record in spite of bring handed a 5-place penalty in race 3 as Lanfear ended third overall ahead of Simpson-Heath and Andrew Thomas. Veteran Johan Hamman meanwhile beat Gary Lennon two races to 1 in a close Max 175 tussle with Jared Jordan third.

Troy Dolinschek took all three under-15 Junior Max wins, but he had to work for it after a great dice with Kyle Visser in race 1, before dominating race 2 and coming from behind to displace the tussling Tate Bishop and Visser in the final. Visser ended second for the day from Bishop, Storm Lanfear, Luca Wehrli, Thaqib Meyer and brothers Andre and Kyle le Riche.

Ethan Stier took a comfortable win in each of the first two under-13 Mini Max races before having to fight for the third race over Jason MacBeath, who had hit trouble in the opening race to allow the returning Valentino Hoffman to take second overall with three third places. Race 1 runner up Paul Malcolm ended up fourth from Mikhail Fernandez, Mischa Williams and MacBeath.

Reza Levy took control of under 11 Mini Max with a dominant race 1 win, before an entertaining second race dice with Reese Koorzen en route to the second heat win and then taking charge midway through the final for a clean sweep. Koorzen took three second places and also set a new lap record in race 1, while Ethan Lennon overcame a day-long spat to take a close third from Ethan Deacon, Ethan Stier and Joshua Smit.

The baby Bambinos delivered great entertainment as most impressive rookie Jordon Wadeley inherited his maiden win in race 1 after Karriem incurred a 5-second penalty to drop him to second. Karriem made no mistakes to take the second heat after a lovely dice with Wadely, who then went on to take his first chequered flag victory in the final to take the day overall. Luan Mostert was a lonely third all day ahead of three more impressive karting rookies, Kai van Rensburg Nikolas Louw and Jordon’s baby sister Rebecca Wadeley.

The Cape Clubmans made a welcome return as Jared Jordan benefited brother Michael’s race 1 demise to take the first race and overall win by a point over Michael, with Sean le Riche third from Ross Middleton and Dylan Pelton. Upcountry visitor Troy Snyman took all three Micro Max wins over Joaquin de Oliveira, with Jason Macbeath third overall from Joshua Smit, Lucas Royston, Eric Norman and Jude Stuart.

The Cape karters return to Killarney for their midwinter midseason round 4 on Saturday 15 June.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images